Awards & Honours

Paul A. Mahon [BComm(Hons)/86], Appointment to the position of President and CEO of Great West Life.

Dr. Gerry Price [BSc(ME)/70, MSc/72], Chairman and CEO, the Price Group of Companies, was named as the 2012 Distinguished Alumni Award Recipient.

Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg, an expert in genetic diseases who championed DNA-based diagnostics in Winnipeg, and Janice Ristock [BA(Hons)/83], a women’s and gender studies professor who was among the first to research partner violence in same-sex relationships, have made the 2012 list of Canada’s Top 100 Most Powerful Women.

Christine Cyr [BA/99], Aboriginal student recruitment officer, was awarded the Future Leaders of Manitoba Award for Community Service for her work in Aboriginal recruitment at the University of Manitoba and for her work in Career Trek, Southeast Child and Family Services, The United Way, and other boards and committees.

The recipient of the 2012 Dr. and Mrs. Ralph Campbell Outreach Award is Dr. Dean Kriellaars, an Associate Professor in the Department of Physical Therapy, School of Medical Rehabilitation in the Faculty of Medicine.

Judicial Appointments - Court of Queen’s Bench of Manitoba

The Honourable Sheldon W. Lanchbery [BA/76, LLB/79]

The Honourable Gwen B. Hatch [LLB/81], Family Division

Judicial Appointments - Provincial Court

Mr. Donovan J. Dvorak [LLB/94] (Brandon)

2013 Order of Manitoba Inductees

Dr. Francis Doyle [BSc/43], O.M., a physician who has been instrumental in health-care strategies.

George Nicholas Heshka [BEd/70], O.M., principal of Sisler High School in Winnipeg, which was recognized by Maclean's magazine as the best all-around school in Canada.

Dr. Allan Ronald [BSc/61], O.M., professor emeritus in the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Manitoba.

Richard J. Scott [LLB/63], O.M., retired chief justice of Manitoba.

Miriam H. Toews [BA/89], O.M., Steinbach-born Toews is an acclaimed author of several books including 2004's A Complicated Kindness which earned her the Governor General's Award for English Fiction.

Order of Canada Recipients

Dr. Prabhat Jha [MD/88], O.C.
Dr. John Buhler [LLD/11], O.C.
Guy Maddin, Distinguished Filmmaker in Residence, O.C., O.M.
Dr. L. Philip Fontaine [BA/81, LLD/10], O.C., O.M.
Dr. Janice Filmon [BSc.HEc./63, LLD/11], C.M., O.M.
Richard E. Waugh [BComm(Hons)/70], O.C.
Arnold W. Boldt [BA(Hons)/84], O.C.
Colonel John Alan Gardam [BA/79], O.C., O.M.M., M.S.M., C.D.
Mr. John. D. Ross [BSc(EE)/62], O.C.
Dr. Beverly Diamond [MSc/78, PhD/82], C.M.
Elsie Kawulych [BScHEc/55], C.M., A.O.E.

2013 Women of Distinction Award Recipients

Dr. Judith G. Bartlett [MD/87, MSc/04]
Dr. Juliette Cooper [BOT/79, MSc/82, PhD/87]
Lisa Meeches, Member of the University of Manitoba Board of Governors from 2002-05
Melanie Verhaeghe [BA/88]
Diane Gray [BA/93, MPA/96]
Emily Richard, Student, Faculty of Social Work

Order of the Buffalo Hunt (2013)

Dr. Ian C.P. Smith [BSc(Hons)/61, MSc/62]

Teaching Awards

Dr. David Barber [BPA/82, MNRM/89, PhD/92], Distinguished Professor
Lance Roberts, Dr. and Mrs. H.H. Saunderson Award for Excellence in Teaching
Lisa Ford, Olive Beatrice Stanton Award for Excellence in Teaching

Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Gold Medal Recipients

25 Faculty members were awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medals in 2012, including University of Manitoba President Dr. David T. Barnard.

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame

Two distinguished graduates of the University of Manitoba are among six new laureates inducted into the Canadian Medical Hall of Fame. Winnipegger Dr. Arnold Naimark [BSc(Med)/57, MD/57, MSc/60], professor, former dean of Faculty of Medicine, currently president emeritus, and director, Centre for the Advancement of Medicine; and Dr. David MacLennan [BSA/59, DSc/01], from Swan River, Manitoba, who is one of Canada’s foremost biomedical scientists.

Manning Innovation Award

The Manning Innovation Award given to agricultural entrepreneurs, Kerry Green [DipAg/83] and Geoff Gyles [BSA/79], for developing a crop fertilizer with superior micronutrient absorption.

Aboriginal Circle of Excellence Award Winners

Ms. Diana Hooper-Pauze [BEd/84]
Sr. Margaret Hughes [BA/73]
Mr. Wab Kinew [BA/03]
Ms. Renee J. McGurry [PBDipEd/05, PBDipEd/10]
Mrs. Kimberley D. Midford [CertEd/77, BPE/76]
Mrs. Marie F. Paynter [MEd/91]
Ms. Jennifer L. Storm [BA/09]

Fall 2012 Convocation Honorary Degree Recipients

Dr. Paul Garfinkel,[MD/69, DSc/12]
Dr. Darlene Coward Wight [LLD/12]

Spring 2013 Convocation Honorary Degree Recipients

Dr. Mark Carney [LLD/13]
Dr. Phyllis Yaffe [BA/69, LLD/13]
Dr. Wayne Anderson [BSA/63]
Dr. Strinivasan Reddy [BEd/74, Med/81, LLD/13]
Archibishop James Weisgerber [LLD/13]
Dr. Julie Payette [DSc/13]
Dr. Henry Engbrecht [LLD/13]
Elder Henry Bone [LLD/13]
Dr. J. Roger Léveillé [BA9LatPh)/66, MA/68, DLitt/13]